Under The Covers and Reading

September 26, 2008

A book meme found at devourerofbooks.com

Filed under: Uncategorized — by underthecoversandreading @ 1:18 pm
Tags: ,

What was the most unusual (for you) book you ever read? Either because the book itself was completely from out in left field somewhere, or was a genre you never read, or was the only book available on a long flight… whatever? What (not counting school textbooks, though literature read for classes counts) was furthest outside your usual comfort zone/familiar territory?
And, did you like it? Did it stretch your boundaries? Did you shut it with a shudder the instant you were done? Did it make you think? Have nightmares? Kick off a new obsession?

I’m having to think about ‘the book’ much longer than I would have expected.  Nothing is leaping to mind right away in terms of ‘outside your comfort zone.’  I’m usually so choosy that I won’t pick a book up unless I think it will be worthwhile for me.

That said, I’m going to go with ‘What Was She Thinking: Notes on a Scandal’ by Zoe Heller.  When I write about this keep in mind I really am speaking about my reaction to the book and not the film.  I never saw the movie although I understand it was quite good.

As for the book…I picked it up thinking it would be a bit of juicy read but I was overwhelmed with how well Heller did drawing you into the characters mental illness.  I felt like I needed to shower every time I read it since the characters were so emotionally and ethically bankrupt.  At least that’s how I remember it.  Admittedly, I was reading it after the birth of my daughter so maybe my hormones were all ramped up and it was just the wrong time for me to read it.  I’m not sure.  I just expected to really love it and instead felt like I too much of a voyeur (in a bad way!)/ 😉  I’d love to hear what others thought!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

