Under The Covers and Reading

November 10, 2008

Good, Rich Earth

Filed under: Uncategorized — by underthecoversandreading @ 9:05 am
Tags: , , ,

unaccustomed-earth

I finished Jumpha Lahiri’s collection of short stories, Unaccustomed Earth, this past week.  I love that woman’s writing.  She has a way of communicating the deepest unspoken truths about relationships that moves me.  After reading each one of her perfectly crafted short stories I find I have to stop and think about it for a few days.  I find myself thinking about them in the shower, or while driving, or talking with friends.

When I first found Lahiri (I’ve read The Namesake and Interpreter of Maladies) I was astounded to see how relevant she was to my life and experiences.  I had the misperception that her work would transport me to someone else’s Bengali or Bengali-American life and experiences– instead, on page after page I found myself relating to her characters as if I had written the stories or she was writing about my family. The cultural differences are fascinating, but actually fade away as the truths of the stories reveal themselves.

I can’t say enough about Lahiri’s work nor can I recommend this book of stories any more highly.  How privleged I was to read both Strout’s Olive Kittridge and Lahiri’s Unaccustomed Earth in the same month.  Wow!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

