Under The Covers and Reading

November 12, 2008

Just Not Feelin’ It

Filed under: Uncategorized — by underthecoversandreading @ 10:38 am

So I’m supposed to be reading Vanity Fair for my bookclub.  Trouble is, I really don’t like it.  I knew it would be a bit of a challenge to stick with such a long book, but I had no idea that I really would find so much of it difficult to read.  There are TONS of time bound cultural, linguistic, and political allusions within the chapters I’m reading and I have to admit it’s quite frustrating.  I’m actually quite surprised.  I don’t normally shy away from reading stuff like this– I love a good British novel– but not this time.  I’d benefit from reading this with a class.  I feel like I need a ton more background.  Anyone have any suggestions for where to look?  I need to see if anyone’s done a book club reading guide for it.    Otherwise I’m doomed.  I just don’t want to spend the time on it any more and that makes me feel bad.  I love the woman who chose this and I want to slog through it if only for her sake.  I like to think I’m up for a challenge but…..my reading time is so precious I hate spending it on something I don’t like. 😦

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

