Under The Covers and Reading

March 4, 2009

The Poor Woman’s Kindle

Filed under: Uncategorized — by underthecoversandreading @ 11:41 am

Oh happy day!  Amazon has released a *free* app for the iphone/itouch that will allow its owners to buy and read Kindle format books on their Apple gadgets.  I am beyond thrilled.  I’m an itouch owner (didn’t want the monthly bill associated with full phone/data plan) who has been experimenting with tiny phone reading apps and I long for a Kindle and it’s larger format.  I’m contenting myself with the itouch format for now, but the $20+ cost of ebooks was really daunting.  I decided I’d only read free classics on my itouch.

Anyway,  this morning I downloaded the free Kindle app and will now be able to buy their ebooks and keep them in my Amazon Kindle account.  I can store purchased books in my Kindle account off my itouch and never lose access to them.  I am just tickled by the fact that the books are so much cheaper, too.  It’s all good until I can actually afford to buy a Kindle.  Someday!  Until then this is a FABULOUS alternative.

Thanks, Amazon!!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

