Under The Covers and Reading

January 20, 2010

Why I’m Still Judging a Book By it’s Cover

Filed under: Uncategorized — by underthecoversandreading @ 1:14 pm

I hate to admit it, but I had a huge realization today: I DO still judge books by their cover and I’m embarrassed about it.

I had this realization as I was visiting my daily list of the book blogs I read faithfully, Book Club Girl, Book Club Classics, Booking Mama, Literate Housewife, A Girl Walks Into a Bookstore, Book Group Buzz, Historical Fiction.com, Devourer of Books, Books on the Nightstand….. I have a special attachment to each of these blogs because at one time or another I’ve taken their advice and read a book or two (often more!) they suggested.  I like the ways these bloggers think and write.  But that doesn’t change my own shallow behavior and I’m not sure it ever will.

Despite the fact that I’m pretty well educated I do STILL choose books by their covers and that alarming activity has now crossed over into my book blog reading.  Thus, my quandry.  I like these blogs and their authors (I don’t know any of them in person),  but as soon as I hit these sites and see a photo of the book or books they are reviewing I make snap judgments about even reading their posts.   I find myself clicking to the next post almost immediately if the book  ‘doesn’t look good’ to me.

I recognize the wholly subjective nature of this problem and I have no great solution for writers and book bloggers.  I wish I did.  I just know that after all these years of reading books and about books, I still make my decisions to read or not almost in a snap.  If I like the cover posted I read the blog review.  No question.  If I don’t like it, I’m clicking to the next site.  What’s a book reviewer to do?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

